Maryland NRP Officers Noted for Saving Lives; Promotions Announced

Maryland NRP officers sort through illegally caught rockfish

Maryland NRP officers sort through illegally caught rockfish

NRP Officers Noted for Saving Lives

WYE MILLS, MD. — Top cops were honored for saving the lives of two Maryland citizens.

Three Maryland Natural Resources Police officers were awarded the agency’s highest honor on April 22, 2015 at a ceremony at Chesapeake College in Wye Mills.

NRP Officer Wright, center.

NRP Officer Wright, center.

Cpl. Lindsey Markert and Officer First Class Mark Greef, both of Baltimore, and Officer First Class Franklin Wright of Somerset County each received the Medal of Valor for their efforts in 2014 during NRP’s annual awards event.

Markert and Greef ignored their own safety on May 17 to help a 68-year-old woman trapped inside a burning yacht in Baltimore’s Inner Harbor. Despite intense heat and smoke, the two officers jumped from their boat, broke a small window to provide fresh air to the woman and stayed to comfort her until firefighters could smash through the cabin.

Wright, on patrol in Somerset County on May 18, spotted a fire in the second floor of a home and sped to the property. He twice ran into the burning structure to pull a mother, her two sons and their dog to safety.

NRP Officer Drew - Officer of the Year

NRP Officer Drew – Officer of the Year

Cpl. Annette Baldwin of Cecil County received the Award of Merit, the agency’s second-highest honor, for tracking a lost hunter through the snow in Harford County on the bitterly cold night of Dec. 13, and leading him to safety.

The awards were presented by DNR Secretary Mark J. Belton and Col. George F. Johnson IV, NRP superintendent.

Thomas “Tim” Hutchins, the newly appointed director of the Maryland Office of Homeland Security, presented the keynote speech.

NRP Drew Officer of the Year

NRP Officer First Class Andrew Wilson received his 2014 Officer of the Year award from DNR Secretary  Belton and Col. Johnson IV.

Four officers were recognized for their skills and outstanding contributions to NRP in specific areas. Officer First Class Andrew Wilson of Dorchester County was named 2014 Officer of the Year. He also was named Wildlife Officer of the Year by Shikar-Safari Club International.

Cpl. Troy Brimer of Wicomico County was selected 2014 Conservation Officer of the Year.

Cpl. Bradley Bunting of Worcester County was named 2014 Boating Safety Officer of the Year.

Senior Officer Leary Stevens of Worcester County was selected 2014 Maryland Park Service Officer of the Year.

Eighteen officers were promoted to corporal: Annette Baldwin, Troy Brimer, Hubert Brohawn, Bradley Bunting, Devin Corcoran, Andrew Felsecker, David Garvey, Timothy Hardman, Steven Hunter, Murray Hunt, Greg Jilek, Joshua Keeney, Benjamin Lillard, Bradley Lowe, Lindsey Markert, Mance McCall III, Brian Chris Miller and Angela Shirley.

Five corporals were promoted to sergeant: Ronald Bakeoven, Stacy Duke, Donald Mackall, Mark McMillan and David Wong.

Sgt. Brian Albert was promoted to lieutenant.

Yulonda Johnson received a civilian promotion to Administrative Officer II.

Nine officers received a Superintendent’s Commendation: Capt. Lloyd Ingerson, Sgt. Stacy Duke, Sgt. John Bailey, Sgt. Randy Bowman, Cpl. Mary Cantwell, Cpl. Frank Sutton, Senior Officer Mark Gadow, Officer First Class Elizabeth Tyler and Officer First Class Andrew Wilson.

Thirteen people received a Certificate of Appreciation: NRP Cpl. Annette Baldwin, Salvatore Bianca, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Special Agent Daniel Collins, Assistant U.S. Attorney P. Michael Cunningham, Todd W. Gleason, James (Matt) Lawrence, Bryan Lowery, Edward Lowery, NRP Lt. Rob Marconi, Dr. Eric May, NRP Cpl. Christopher Morris, NRP Sgt. Lisa Nyland and Shennie Patel.

  • Join our boat club! Full-service marina.

Spread the love